Thanksgiving

First, let me apologize for not making a post last week. I really should write and schedule a few in advance for those weeks when I am too lost to string a sentence together. Alas, I am not a plan ahead type of person. So, please bear with me during difficult times and know that I will always bounce back.

I won’t go into too much detail about my mental state last week other than to say I was in sincere shock over current events. I am an empathetic person by nature and the amount of hate that was plastered on social media was overwhelming. I allowed it to infiltrate my mind and mingle with things I dislike about my own life, which just compounded my despair.

To counteract the negativity, despite my feelings about the origin of the upcoming Thanksgiving holiday, I am going to let the universe know how thankful I am for the multitude of blessings in my life. My hope is that by doing this, it will trigger a cascade of positive emotion in me and in everyone who reads this. We could all use a reset.

First and foremost, I am thankful for a higher power. This higher power can be called many things depending on your views, and some people completely deny the existence of such a thing, but I like to think that there is a purpose to the suffering that goes on in this world. I truly believe that if it were not for the power of prayer, or collective well-wishes, or what have you, that one of my children would not be here today. That miracle will never be far from my conscious thoughts, and will always be the thing I am most thankful for.

Secondly, I am thankful for my family. The love, compassion, selflessness, support, grounding, morality, and loyalty characteristic of all of my ancestors and distant relatives has made raising four children in this crazy world a bit easier. They were surrounded by these virtues, which they soaked up like thirsty little sponges. As they continue to grow and influence the world around them, my appreciation for the examples set for them grows accordingly.

Thirdly, I am thankful for my country. I may not like how it came to be, or the choices that have historically been made through hate, but I am here now. In this moment. I am able to freely voice any dissent I may have to attempt to affect change, and that is fantastic. I am also free to praise those whom I believe are spreading virtuous and moral words and actions. I am free. Freedom is not cheap and is too often taken for granted and abused. I love this country, the democratic ideals it was built upon, and its ability to adapt to changing times.

I could go on indefinitely for things I am thankful for, but that would be a long and tedious read. I can reflect on the rest of it internally, and I urge you to do the same. Everyone has reasons to be down, but finding things to be thankful for in the face of that is empowering. Enjoy the people, food, and blessings that surround you during the upcoming holiday and spread as much good will as you can. I wish all of you a very Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a comment